ResurrXion, Part 5 — Seems like It’s Better to Go Solo (Rantings)

Okay, so I didn’t completely think this format through, so now Cable’s all by his lonesome. But hey, that’s probably for the best. He can not be tainted by another series… though I had to stretch for a title for this post.

Well that all went to waste! For the record, I was going to call this post “ResurrXion, Part 5 — Cable’s Gonna Be a Star, Man (Rantings)”. Anyway, I’m glad All-New Wolverine is continuing (and hopefully this also means Jeff Lemire’s Old Man Logan also gets to continue), but more on that after Cable.

9
No feet, big weird guns… but not enough pouches.

Cable

Written by James Robinson
Art by Carlos Pacheco

Now that is a creative team! Ahem. Anyway, Cable is a character I don’t think Marvel knows what to do with. His last really successful stories were when he played the straight man to Deadpool in the beloved Cable & Deadpool series. There have been numerous attempts to reinvigorate the character over the years — acting as a surrogate father to Hope Summers in Cable (volume 2), giving him his own X-Force team in Cable and X-Force, trying to recreate the magic of Cable & Deadpool, and even making him an Avenger over in Uncanny Avengers — but the character just doesn’t have a really defined role. He’s a nineties creation through and through, with a somewhat complicated backstory. But he’s also fairly popular, and his friendship with Deadpool really benefits him. James Robinson seems to want to give him a more defined role, and one that suits the time-hopping mass of muscle.

Cable is going to feature the eponymous time-travelling mutant anti-hero running through time and combating enemy time-travellers out to abuse the timeline. It’s been done before, my favourite version being in DC’s Booster Gold ongoing that spun out of 52, but Cable’s anti-hero ways will bring a nice touch to things. The antagonist will be a new villain (though I’m calling it: he’s an unused old character with a new name) called Conquest, a name straight out of the nineties. Settings Robinson has mentioned include 15th century Japan, World War I, the Stone Age and Victorian England. I’m not sure Cable’s the right character to give us a historical piece, but it’s definitely more subdued than what I initially expected. However, I fully expect some references to other Marvel works, because this is Robinson.

And speaking of James Robinson, he’s a great writer. His Starman is something I still need to get into, but I’ve read the first issue and dug it. It updates old concepts for modern times, and does so while honouring the past. Robinson is like Grant Morrison in that sense, but holds the past in reverence but doesn’t feel the need for weird changes and incomprehensibility. He can tell great, cinematic stories with great world-building like with Earth 2 (before editors screwed him over… then screwed Tom Taylor over). His skill with continuity and fondness of the Golden Age I think will be a big benefit for Cable, as the series will likely involve playing with Marvel continuity and some war stories.

Carlos Pacheco is an artist I like whenever I see his work, but I rarely see it. His work on Uncanny X-Men (volume 2) was great, and he can actually draw different faces and figures, which look nice but not exceedingly nice as to be fanservice (though he draws a great Emma Frost). Pacheco excels at expression, while being able to be subtle unlike other artists who excel at expression. I’m not sure how he’s going to fit into Cable’s probably darker stories, but at least the art will look nice.

Cable has an okay premise, but the creative team is why I’m looking forward to it. Time travel suits Robinson, and Pacheco is an excellent artist. While I’m not sure about the choice of character, I have faith in this team.

10
That is a generic cover right there. Also, weird shoulder pads for some reason.

All-New Wolverine
Written by Tom Taylor
Art by Leonard Kirk

So All-New Wolverine does get to continue! Though I’m not sure why it’s not being renumbered, what with Marvel’s love on new series, I’m glad it is and that Tom Taylor is staying as writer. I’m reading All-New Wolverine in trade, and although the first volume is uneven and kind of generic, the second, though not subtle, makes me feel like Taylor gets the character and has given her a fitting role as a big sister figure and hero. Once Taylor stopped following the Wolverine Plot Blueprint, he was able to tell good stories, though they are still flawed (I plan on reviewing the second trade soon).

If the lack of a renumbering didn’t give it away, All-New Wolverine isn’t relaunching as part of ResurrXion, but starting a new arc called “Immune”. The arc supposedly follows on from the previous story arc, “Enemy of the State II” (by the way, I’m pretty sure there was already an arc called that, if not in Wolverine, then in Black Panther), which I haven’t read yet. But “Immune” will have a virus outbreak leading to the government cordoning off a city, and Laura going in. An alien child speaks Laura’s name with her dying breath — though I’m pretty sure the kid is gonna say ‘Wolverine’ as opposed to Laura or X-23 — and that messes with her life, because the virus is alien and apparently originates from Laura. The child thing makes me think that Gabby, Laura’s sidekick (kinda), is going to die or go evil in “Enemy of the State II”, if she hasn’t already and we’ll have to see Laura deal with trust issues and the like. At the same time, Laura is isolated during this story and there’s nothing to fight, and that will be explored. I’m okay with the latter, since it’s good that a character so surrounded by fighting can getg a conflict where she can’t fight her way out. But the statement about Laura being isolated has me concerned that she might revert to her emo, mid-late 2000s self, who I find insufferable. But the story has potential to explore the character, which is what All-New Wolverine has done so well, albeit by using fairly average plots.

The team is okay. Tom Taylor gets Laura Kinney, and although he’s forced to retcon some things in for the sake of his All-New Wolverine stories, they mostly work. While I find him as subtle as a brick — he doesn’t seem to trust the reader to make connections between various scenes themselves, even those within the same issue — he’s good with his Laura characterisation most of the time. His plots need work, but on a character-driven solo series like this, it’s fine. While I dislike some of Taylor’s work (the Injustice: Gods Among Us tie-in), he’s a relatively new writer and All-New Wolverine reads better as it goes, so he’s clearly learning. Plus, it’s nice that he can tell his own stories, after his Earth 2 run was so heavily editor-controlled. Leonard Kirk is an okay artist, who uses slightly exaggerated faces to convey emotion, but is flexible. From the sci-fi drama of Fantastic Four to the more dark stories of Squadron Supreme, he’s shown that he’s versatile. I don’t particularly like or hate his artwork, but he’s a solid choice. Laura’s new costume is obviously supposed to invoke her time with X-Force, and… I don’t know. The brighter Wolverine costume worked for her, as someone who’s more typically superhero than Logan. And it further worries me that Laura is going to slip into the dark anti-hero thing again and start killing, which, as a character who wanted to not be a killer, is moving her character backwards (though I guess you could justify it with her not wanting her time as an experiment affecting her at all, but it’d still read badly to me personally).

There’s not much to say here. I’m glad All-New Wolverine is continuing and sounds like it will keep exploring Laura Kinney’s character in interesting ways, though I’m worried she might regress. I’m not sure how many people will jump on, but I hope it continues because this series actually gives Laura roles that suit her.

Oh, and random aside: Marvel, please tag Cable and All-New Wolverine as part of ResurrXion  on your site. And maybe have a consistent image size for the covers so I don’t have to resize them.

Leave a Reply

